25 June, 2022





June 25, 2022, Cairo – The American University in Cairo (AUC) held its undergraduate and graduate commencement ceremonies this week for the Class of 2022, the first University-wide commencement ceremonies since COVID-19. The ceremonies witnessed the graduation of 603 bachelor’s degree candidates, 82 Master’s degree candidates and two doctorate degree students. The ceremonies also witnessed the graduation of 24 international undergraduate and graduate students from Greece, Nigeria, Palestine, Japan, Korea, USA, Brazil, and more.

In the ceremonies, AUC President Ahmad Dallal emphasized the University’s mission to serve Egypt and the world since it was founded in 1919, preparing students to meet the challenges of the day with courage, confidence, and innovation.  Dallal pointed out the challenges the world faced during COVID-19 and its impact on people’s lives. “Tonight, we are gathering after two years of tremendous struggle and perseverance on the part of our students, faculty, staff, and all of our friends and families. As we look at the changed world around us, it is clear that all of our lives have been impacted in ways that would have been unimaginable before the pandemic,” Dallal said.

Eve M. Troutt Powell (CASA '84, '89, '05), Christopher H. Browne distinguished professor of history and Africana studies at the University of Pennsylvania was the speaker of the undergraduate commencement ceremony and the recipient of the AUC Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters. Powell shared memories of her time at AUC back in the 1980s. She described how the University enabled her to immerse herself in a new city and a new country that changed everything for her. I” met my husband here, I found Arabic here – and that has been a long road of learning and discovery for me.” She also stressed how much her experience at AUC inspired her entire career as a historian of the Nile Valley and the Middle East. “There are faculty on this stage who gave me the tools to ask and inquire. Because of them, I learned to feel like I am home when I am here, with my family,” she said.

In her speech at the graduate commencement ceremony, Maya Morsy ‘95, president of Egypt’s National Council for Women, advised the students to constantly have faith and confidence in their capabilities. “Everyone has his own stamp, for this, it is important that you don’t let yourself get into the trap of questioning your own capabilities. Morsy congratulated the students for their achievements and perseverance in achieving success. “Today is an opportunity to reflect on the progress and the downfalls, the highs and the lows, the lessons learned, the changes you had to go through, all of which have led to this moment of celebrations.”

Morsy also pointed out and applauded two notable Egyptian women, who paved the way for Egyptian women in today’s world; Eva Habib, the first Egyptian woman who graduated from AUC in 1931 as well as Doria Shafik who led "a feminist congress" from Ewart Memorial Hall in 1951 to the Egyptian Parliament, demanding women's rights to vote and hold office.

This year, in commemoration of award-winning Palestinian-American female journalist Shireen Abu Aqleh, who was shot and killed in May 2022 while reporting on a raid in Jenin in the West Bank, AUC Professor Soraya Altorki presented Shireen Abu Aqleh Award to a high-achieving Palestinian student from the West Bank or Gaza. The award was given to Alamir Yacoub.

Distinguished students were also recognized for their achievements at the ceremony. The President's Cup and the Mohamed EL Beleidy Academic Award were given to Abdelrahman Hatem, Hany Adel and Ramez Adel, who ranked highest in the graduating class. The Jehane Ragai and John Thomas highest Achiever in Chemistry Award was presented to Mariam William.


The Omar Mohsen Athletic Achievement Cup was presented to Aisha Said and Dr. Ahmed Zewail Prize for Excellence in the Sciences and Humanities was awarded to Ahmed Ibrahim. Ahmed El Mehallawi Family Award was given to Amina Hisham, The Parents Association Cup was presented to Mohamed Ossama and the Student Government Cup was awarded to students Salma Tamer and Tia Ashraf. Ahmed Salah Eldin received the Valerie Farag Music Award. Hany Adel and Ramez Adel received the Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim A. Allehedan Award which is offered to the highest performing STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) students.


Dareen Hussein received The Doria Shafik Award that is presented to the student who worked on women's empowerment in any discipline, field or activity. Mohammed Osama received the Dr. Ahmed Abdel Rahman El Sawy award that is given to the student with the highest-grade point average in the engineering department and who has been a Public-School Scholarship recipient.


For graduate students' awards, Salah Eldin Seoudy was given the 25th of January Award for Scholarly Excellence, which is awarded for a student's outstanding thesis work on a topic related to democracy, human rights, citizenship or sustainable development in the Middle East and North Africa. Mohamed Saleh received the Mohammed Bin Abdulkarim A. Allehedan Award.


For regular updates from the University during coronavirus visit www.aucegypt.edu/coronavirus 

For more information about the university news and events follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/aucegypt and Twitter @AUC